The Amazing Spider-Man #27 Review

The Osborn Identity: Part Three ‘A Private War’

Spider-Man and Silver Sable team up with surprising allies as they ‘invade’ Symkaria to take on Norman Osborn.

Writer: Dan Slott

Artist: Stuart Immonen

Colourist: Marte Garcia

5843218-27

First things first. That cover. Of course Alex Ross can make something so stupid beautiful. I like silly comics. The goofier the better for me (in most cases). But Spider-Man doesn’t need a four-legged mech suit/ quad bike. I don’t know what it’s meant to be exactly, all I know is it’s daft.

If the cover hasn’t driven you far from the store yet then let’s look inside. Maybe it’s Stockholm Syndrome but I don’t dislike this issue. Honestly I think I’ve just gotten used to what Slott is doing to Peter Parker but everything in #27 works for me. It reminds me of what I loved about the Ultimate comics growing up.

The ‘new and improved’ Osborn, now looking like a Green Goblin is like something straight out of Ultimate Spider-Man. Couple that with Stuart Immonen on art and you’ve got a mid-2000s vibe. The plot works reasonably well. The silly Spider Bikes and such feel appropriate here because Symkaria isn’t New York. Spidey doesn’t have skyscrapers here. This is more luck than anything else consider he’s been using this nonsense since the first issue but hey, I’ll allow it this time.

The incredibly mild political themes are a somewhat pleasant addition to the story. The debate about whether S.H.I.E.L.D. should help and Spider-Man’s subsequent abandonment of the law to apprehend Osborn provide decent ethical dilemmas. Such dilemmas have been absent from Spider-Man stories for some time. I don’t know if these were intentional but I like them.

The art is wonderful. Immonen was made for Spider-Man. His depiction of the suit is one of my favourites. I feel he gets the eyes just right.

If the tone of the series hasn’t won you over yet, this won’t change that. Peter ‘Iron Man’ Parker hopefully won’t last forever but like I said, this issue manages to make the tech stuff feel more natural.

Recommendation: Pick up the Issue – if – you collect Spider-Man no matter what. Wait for the trade – if – You want a decent Spider-Man story but don’t care enough pick up monthly

Author: Alex

I review comics and books. I also take issue with a lot of things.

Leave a Reply

