Batman #23 Review

The Brave and the Mold

 

 

Batman and Swamp Thing team up, in the strangest team-up in history!

Writer: Tom King

Artist: Mitch Gerads

Tom King has dedicated an entire issue of his Batman run to Bernie Wrightson.

That’s what this is. At a glance it’s a Batman issue but really it’s a Swamp Thing tribute to the late artist Bernie Wrightson.

The entire issue is glittered with small nods to Wrightson. Swamp Thing’s ‘father’ that appears at the beginning of the issue looks very similar to an Alan Moore. ‘He left me when I was five. My mother remarried. My stepfather raised me. I had his name.’ Is this just dialogue or is this meant to allude to the fact Alan Moore become more synonymous with Swamp Thing than Wrightson or Wein did? Probably the first but I’ve been reading too much Greg Carpenter.

Other small nods like Weinwrightson Tower make this issue very charming. The plot itself is fantastic as is to be expected of King. The structure is phenomenal and the chapters work very well. Art from Gerads is beautiful and I hope he gets more work with King on Batman. The two clearly work well together.

As far as single issues go there isn’t much to say other than read this. It’s very good. Tom King is a real master of the art and he’s consistently proving himself to be one of the best Batman writers. I see him being talked about like Snyder and Morrison when he steps away.

Recommendation: pick up the issue.

Author: Alex

I review comics and books. I also take issue with a lot of things.

3 thoughts on “Batman #23 Review”

  1. I’m yet to get into Swamp Thing (I have the first volume of Alan Moore’s run on the pile) but he’s a character that certainly intrigues me and I really enjoyed this issue of Batman even without knowing much about Swamp Thing and it was great to read the comparisons in your review which will give me a new perspective when I read the book again.

    Like

    1. It’s funny you should say that, I’ve not read much Swamp Thing myself but the other week I read Greg Carpenter’s book on the British Invasion and he went over Moore’s run in depth which definitely added to my reading of this issue

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

