Nightwing #21 Review

Split Second

 

Nightwing and Wally West, The Flash, get together for a guy’s night, or as you could also call it, a good old fashioned team up!

Writer: Michael McMillian

Artist: Christian Duce

Colourist: Chris Sotomayor

I’ll admit when I first noticed Tim Seeley’s name not on the cover I got nervous. I haven’t kept up to date with the solicitations or news so perhaps Seeley has left and I’m just unaware. Hopefully he hasn’t. But McMillian has done well filling Seeley’s shoes this week.

A short google has taught me that McMillian is an actor on a bunch of shows I haven’t seen and is a recent graduate of DC’s writers workshop. Cool huh. So considering this as a one off issue to showcase McMillian’s talents he has taken the opportunity well.

I loved this. The whole issue felt like a love letter to the silver age. The self-referential dialogue lines pointing out the absurdity of their situation, name etc. I love it. Meta fiction and meta humour is one of my favourite things. It might not be everyone’s cup of tea however.

The plot of the issue sees Nightwing and the Flash team up in a fun throwback to the tales of yesteryear. That’s not to say the issue is irrelevant in regard to Seeley’s run, there’s plenty of good storytelling here. McMillian is one to watch. I say that but apparently many have been watching him for years.

Christian Duce also shows off his talents. I’m a fan of his art style. He does well depicting great action shots while also making Dick Grayson look like a hero even as a civilian. Colouring by Sotomayor is as good as ever.

Despite this being a one-shot story it’s definitely worth the read.

Recommendation: pick up the issue.

Author: Alex

I review comics and books. I also take issue with a lot of things.

Leave a Reply

