Superman #24 Review

Black Dawn: Chapter 5

Manchester Black’s plan comes together. Can Superman save his son, or is it too late? 

Writers: Patrick Gleason & Peter J. Tomasi

Artist: Doug Mahnke & Patrick Gleason

Colourists: Wil Quintana, John Kalisz, Hi-Fi

This issue was only slightly underwhelming. The build up to this story has lasted so long almost anything would feel a little anticlimactic.

The reveal of Manchester Black last issue was well done. It answered the questions I’ve had about the tone the series has been taking. This tone is really being hammered home this issue with the ‘should heroes kill’ debate being drilled into the reader. Now it obviously worked in Black’s debut. I feel there is a place for the story to return, especially with young Jon. That said this felt like filler.

I see where the story is going and I can guess how it will end, which is a shame since Superman Rebirth has been so good until this point. Then again I might be wrong. Hopefully I am.

I admire how amazingly sci-fi the series has went with almost no warning. The sudden shift to alien refugees is admittedly entertaining. While I say the story is predictable it’s also still fun.

I have mixed feelings about the art. Both Mahnke and Gleason are great. I love them both but together their styles clash. I don’t think it works to mix them. If I had to choose I’d say Gleason’s pages fit the tone better. Colouring throughout the issue is great.

That’s all I have to say. It’s a pleasant issue but not as good as the previous. Hopefully next time will be better.

Recommendation: pick up the issue – if – you’ve been following so far, otherwise wait for this arc to end and get the trade.

Author: Alex

I review comics and books. I also take issue with a lot of things.

Leave a Reply

