Dark Days: The Forge #1 Review

The prelude to the epic event Metal. Batman is enacting his plan, but what is the puzzle he’s playing? 

Writers: Scott Snyder & James Tynion IV

Artists: Jim Lee, Andy Kubert & John Romita Jr.

Colourists: Alex Sinclair with Jeremiah Skipper

And so another DC event is beginning. Like other DC events it’s quite good, if a little hard to follow for some. Let me explain.

Snyder says he’s been developing this story for five years, with hints and teases. Add to that the references within this issue to other DC events dating back to around 2008. At least that’s how much I’ve noticed so far. Now, for me and many other readers this is excellent. It’s almost a rewarding experience to understand something that was only hinted at a year ago. But say you’re a new reader, you’re lost.

The frequency of Marvel’s events led me to lose interest in them whereas the one or two a year model DC has adopted works well for me. This is building to be another one of DC’s events that gets the comic community talking for a month. I won’t go into spoilers but there’s lots to digest, a la Rebirth #1.

The art is varied. I’m not a fan of multiple artists to single issues. I understand why DC have done it this time but still I’d rather they stuck to one. With that said this issue features a who’s who in comic book artists. Jim Lee’s art is the cleanest. Personally I identify Lee’s art with DC now since he usually does important issues. Ironically, I prefer Romita Jr’s pages the most. Not everyone appreciates his art but there’s something about his blocky style and Batman that work so well together.

Overall, this is an issue you need to read if you follow comics. It’ll be harder to understand if you haven’t read any DC (or Batman) comics for a while but I’m sure internet forums will fill you in.

Recommendation: pick up the issue.

Author: Alex

I review comics and books. I also take issue with a lot of things.

4 thoughts on “Dark Days: The Forge #1 Review”

  1. Great review Alex, I found your thoughts on the Forge very interesting. I think there’s a certain level of accessability to the book if newer readers just kind of “go with it” but you’re right, the experience is so much richer and rewarding if you’ve followed/have good knowledge of DC Comics continuity .

    I’ve never really been all that fond of John Romita Jr’s more contemporary stuff (his style seems to have gotten a bit lazy if you look back at his work on Daredevil: Man Without Fear which is actaully great) but it didn’t ‘irk’ me as much as I though it would. Still, if we could have had the whole thing done by Jim Lee it would’ve been all the more special!

    Like

    1. Thank you for the kind words. I was a little harsh saying it would make no sense. Part of getting into comics is just ‘going with it’ and this is certainly one of those comics that will hook a lot of people. I agree on Romita Jr too, I’m really not into his Lego people but I think his run on All-Star Batman won me over. Had Jim Lee been the sole artist it would have definitely been better.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

