The Flash #26 Review

Running Scared Part Two “One Way or Another”

The Reverse Flash shows both Barry Allen and Iris West the future they will live. Including a cameo from the future Flash this is an action packed issue full of time bending shenanigans. 

Writer: Joshua Williamson

Artist: Howard Porter

Colourist: Hi-Fi

I’m running really behind on Flash because Diamond decided not to ship #24 a few weeks back. Reading through them all in a row is a bit of a chore but I’m getting there.

After last week’s issue I wondered where they would go but this is an interesting and dare I say unpredictable turn.

The future Flash stuff is so wacky it’s great. It’s really off the wall so a lot of people will probably give it the ‘this is daft’ treatment. Depending how the arc plays out decides how I’ll retroactively consider these segments.

After watching the CW show the idea of the Reverse Flash messing with Barry Allen’s timeline is getting a bit repetitive but Williamson is finding ways to make it new. There’s plenty here for readers who have seen Eobard Thawne mess with Barry Allen for literal years.

Howard Porter’s art is very much to my taste. At times eyes and eyebrows seem comically large but for the most part it’s exactly what I like about comic book art. he’s the kind of artist that makes me want to draw. I don’t know if I should add or subtract points for the size of future Flash’s biceps.

Overall an entertaining Flash issue with many easter eggs to keep readers hooked.

Recommendation: pick up the issue.

Author: Alex

I review comics and books. I also take issue with a lot of things.

Leave a Reply

