X-Men Gold #8 Review

Secret Empire Part 2

Kitty Pryde has to juggle all her duties as leader as a mutant serial killer is on the loose in the X-Mansion while there are explosives planted under it to destroy the entire Mansion anyway. 

Writer: Marc Guggenheim

Artist: Ken Lashley

Colourist: Frank Martin with Andrew Crossley

I love this book.

Every two weeks I pick up X-Men Gold and I think if I need another bi-weekly book. Then I read it and put it away with a huge grin on my face. It really stands out to me as a series that gets everything right.

This issue again exemplifies all that is good about the series. Kitty is really well written, it’s clear Guggenheim likes the character. The relationships are all believable but more importantly they play out well considering the issue is about a mutant serial killer. The social commentary again feels relevant but at the same time Guggenheim isn’t beating you over the head with metaphors.

I particularly enjoyed the Nightcrawler section of this issue. It manages to say a lot in what I think was two pages.

Ken Lashley’s art is still fantastic. I think the series will rotate for another artist for the next arc. I was unsure how I’d react to this style but I’m getting really into it.

It’s worth noting this is an event tie in. Who would have thought an event tie in could be so good?

This is a great series and a great issue.

Recommendation: pick up the issue.

Author: Alex

I review comics and books. I also take issue with a lot of things.

Leave a Reply

