The Hellblazer #12 Review

The Smokeless Fire Part 6

Constantine finally comes face to face with the Djinn. After his plan has fallen apart… 

Writer: Simon Oliver

Artist: Davide Fabbri

Colourist: Carrie Strachan

This arc just didn’t work for me. I gave it the benefit of the doubt each month but I’m going to finally admit that I didn’t enjoy it.

I don’t know why it’s quite so boring in comparison to the previous arcs. There’s a lot of confusion surrounding this arc. There’s many side characters that are introduced that either die or disappear (probably to return in a later issue). There was the part with the flying shoe that I don’t remember really going anywhere. Plot wise this arc has left me wanting more. Having Constantine be smarmy about the lack of a plan can only work for so many issues of an arc. Once you hit part six and you still have no clue where anything is going even the reader can get a little tired.

Concerning the art, Davide Fabbri’s style is not one I’m fond of. There’s something off that I can’t quite pin point. Everything just looks a little flat. Maybe it’s the colours by Strachan that don’t gel well but I think it’s just generally Fabbri’s style. His characters look like cartoons and I don’t feel it mixes well with the tone of the series. The violence can be off putting since it looks so silly but the violent moments are meant to be shocking.

I think this book (or arc rather) would benefit from being black and white. The colours bring out the problems in the art.

I don’t have much more to say. Overall I’m disappointed in this issue and this arc. I expected more from Oliver.

Recommendation: avoid the issue.

Author: Alex

I review comics and books. I also take issue with a lot of things.

Leave a Reply

