All Star Batman #12 Review

The First Ally Part 3

More is revealed about Alfred’s past while Batman tries not to die. 

Writer: Scott Snyder

Artist: Rafael Albuquerque

This arc just isn’t doing it for me.

You might notice how vague my issue summary is. I tried to make it interesting but I don’t really know what’s happening in this arc. I even skimmed through the issue to see if there’s anything I forgot. The start of the issue has Batman on a submarine and I remember none of this from last month. That’s on me but my point is that this story doesn’t keep me interested.

There’s a page with mermaids saving Batman. Maybe that’ll be brought up again later but as for this issue it’s just there but I was too bored to care by that point.

I just don’t find Alfred’s backstory interesting. I really hate the ‘previously unknown past’ trope in comics. Especially when a character’s existed for 75 years but readers only just find out about this incredibly important part of their life now. I like Alfred as a character but I like him as the father figure, not the wayward teen come secret spy.

It’s a strange complaint I have but it irks me that Albuquerque is on art finally and this arc is so bright. His art works so well with dark tones. His Batman is beautiful and I’d always pictured this arc like a noir tale. As such the Alfred story set in warm toned hallways fails to entertain me.

It’s a shame I’m not enjoying this as much as I should. Personally, it’s the worst arc yet. Other people will probably enjoy this issue, but I can’t recommend it. It just bored me.

Recommendation: avoid the issue.

Author: Alex

I review comics and books. I also take issue with a lot of things.

Leave a Reply

