Superman #28 Review

Independence Day

The Kent’s continue their American History themed road trip. 

Writers: Peter J. Tomasi & Patrick Gleason

Artist: Scott Godlewski

Colourist: Gabe Eltaeb

The American history lesson continues and I’m still unsure about it.

Like last time I appreciate the message of the issue, not only is history important but all aspects of history are important. I also admire that Tomasi and Gleason have put such strong lessons into this comic. But on the other hand this was not a fun read.

I got little enjoyment from this issue as American patriotism doesn’t mean that much to me. I’m not American. I understand that Superman is ‘America’s Dad’ and I think he’s definitely the best character for this story (especially considering he currently has a son). That said I have no interest in this.

I know about the Korean War, the Vietnam War, the Civil War. I didn’t learn anything here. Again I have to step back and point out I’m not an American child, which is really who this is aimed for. It’s weird because I’m a massive proponent of lessons in comics but I’m so against this issue. I feel like the lessons contained here are just too obvious. A comic teaches people by fooling them into learning. There’s no fooling anyone here this is like going to school.

The issue does have a moment that redeems it at the end, where Superman acts in classic Superman fashion, going out of his way to help. Personally I’d rather the issue lean more heavily on these aspects and less on the lessons. I think it would make the issue work better as a whole if it read like that instead of just a Wikipedia entry.

The art is good again but nothing noteworthy.

Overall I’m disappointed again. After the previous 25 issues I expected more from Tomasi and Gleason.

Recommendation: avoid the issue.

Author: Alex

I review comics and books. I also take issue with a lot of things.

Leave a Reply

